The Phenomenal Handclap Band

With a debut unreleased album that featured members of Jon Spencer Blues Explosion, TV on the Radio, L'Trimm, Calla, Mooney Suzuki, Oakley Hall, Antibalas, the Dap-Kings, Diamond Nights, Persephone's Bees, Si*Sé, and Apollo Heights, rumors circulated quickly from the get-go that the Phenomenal Handclap Band was a weighty endeavor, filled to the rim with both talent and potential. The New York collective was masterminded and formed by Daniel Collás and Sean Marquand, two underground club DJs struck with the desire to produce. They paired up under the name Embassy Sound Productions and got their chops behind the mixing board producing tracks for veteran soul musicians Joe Bataan and União Black. Those recordings garnered some attention, enough to give Collás and Marquand the clout to round up an underground soul/indie pop supergroup of sorts. Several sessions later -- and after picking a new name and forming a core group of players (Patrick Wood, Luke O'Malley, Laura Marin, Bing Ji Ling, Pier Pappalardo, and Joan Tick) -- a few singles were leaked to the Internet. Rooted in stylish, funky beats and groovy '60s and '70s culture, the songs grabbed the interest of Truth & Soul, which released a 7" single in April of 2009. A self-titled album soon followed in 2009 for Friendly Fire, and the album was reissued in 2010 by Tummy Touch. An album of remixes (Remixes) of songs from the album came out in 2010 as the Phenomenal Handclap Band's popularity grew thanks to bloggers and their fun live show. After parting ways with Tick, the group recorded its second album, Form & Control, at the legendary RAK Studios in London. It was released by Tummy Touch in early 2012.

Phenomenal Handclap Band are a psychedelic soul band from New York City. Their first full-length record, Phenomenal Handclap Band, was released in 2009 on Friendly Fire Recordings in the US and in 2010 on Tummy Touch Records. The album was also released world wide by KSR in Japan, Inertia in Australia, GOMMA in Germany, and Universal Records in the Philippines. The band was started by Daniel Colls and Sean Marquand. Both Colls and Marquand were DJs and production partners working around the New York City area producing records for other artists. The two soon starting writing and producing their own music. While recording original material, Colls and Marquand had help from various local artists to help record their music such as Aurelio Valle, Carol C, Jaleel Bunton, Jon Spencer, and Lady Tigra. In 2008 Patrick Wood, Luke Riverside, Laura Marin, Bing Ji Ling, Pier Pappalardo and Joan Tick joined to officially form the band. Their second full-length album, Form and Control, was released February 13th, 2012. Phenomenal Handclap Band has been touring in 2011 with Bryan Ferry.

Read More on Wiki
Read full bio



15 to 20

  • Following

  • Tudo o Que Você Podia Ser

  • You'll Disappear - Munk Remix (Unmixed)

  • 15 to 20 (The Glimmers Remix)

  • You'll Disappear - Munk Remix

  • You'll Disappear (Munk Remix)



Free Your Music - Discover, download, record, manage your favorite music with ease.

Download videos from YouTube and also another 10,000+ video sites with 3X faster speed.

Transfer music, photos, playlists, videos, contacts from iPhone,iPad and iPod to iTunes Library, PC and Mac.

A real-time digital audio recorder which records any audio source that’s automatically detected on your computer.